Do you have to hit your ball first in Pool?

What happens if you don’t hit your ball first in Pool?

If you did not hit your ball first and made your opponents ball – you table scratched and your opponents get the cue ball to place anywhere on the table.

Do you have to hit the balls in order in Pool?

Here's the catch: On all shots—after the break and not when the table is open—the player must hit one of his group of balls first, and either pocket a ball, or make a ball (or the cue ball) contact the side of the table. … If either of the balls does not contact the side of the table, the shot is considered a foul.

Can you hit the black ball first in Pool?

Except following a foul when only the black ball and ball(s) of the opponents group are on the table, then with the first shot of the first visit, the player may legally pocket the black ball as well as ball(s) of the opponent's group by any combination and in any order.

What are the rules for straight pool?

In straight pool, the player may attempt to pocket any object ball on the table regardless of its number or color until one object ball and the cue ball remain, at which point the other fourteen balls are replaced.

What happens if you don’t hit the 8 ball?

If a player fails to hit the 8-ball while shooting at it, it is a foul and the game continues. When the 8-ball is the legal object ball, a scratch or foul is not a loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped off the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. … The third infraction will result in loss of game.

What is the rule for scratching in pool?

The Billiard Congress of America defines a scratch — a shot on which the cue ball is pocketed — as a foul. Even if you successfully pocket an object ball, you scratch if the cue ball drops into any pocket and you lose your turn.

Related Posts

map Adblock
detector